Uruguay Passport Documents Checklist
A Uruguayan passport is issued by the Interior Ministry (DNIC). First-time applications run through four variants and an audiencia (appointment) system. Verified against gub.uy, October 2026.
The 15-second answer
Book a comparecencia appointment through DNIC, then attend in person with your valid DNI. A standard passport is issued in 15 business days; urgent in 5 business days.
Which variant applies to you
The first-time trámite covers four case types — pick the one that matches you:
- Natural citizens of Uruguay.
- Ley 16.021 — born abroad to Uruguayan parents.
- Ley 19.362 — Uruguayan grandchildren.
- Legal citizens holding a Carta de Ciudadanía.
What to bring (main line)
- DNI — valid and in good condition (every case).
- Minors: birth certificate (Testimonio less than 30 days old) and both parents attending with a valid, good-condition DNI.
- Married minor: the parents are exempt from attending; a marriage certificate under 30 days applies.
- Death registration where the case requires it.
- Ley 16.021 additions: a Testimonio entered in the foreigners' register under 30 days; if one party refuses to attend, judicial authorisation; a guardianship judgment, which must be updated if older than a year.
How long it takes
- Standard: 15 business days for collection.
- Urgent: 5 business days — between 2 and 5 business days according to demand on the in-person route.
The appointment
Uruguay works by audiencia: book a comparecencia through the DNIC portal before you go.
Fees and photo
The official page consulted does not publish the fee, so it is left blank here rather than guessed. The photo terms were not captured either, so no photo specification is stated for this procedure; if you need a photo for a different document, see the Uruguay photo requirements or the photo size chart, and test it with the free passport photo checker.
Frequently asked questions
How do I apply for a Uruguayan passport for the first time?
Through the Interior Ministry's DNIC: book a comparecencia (audiencia) appointment, then attend in person.
How long does a Uruguayan passport take?
Standard: 15 business days. Urgent: 5 business days — and, for the in-person route, between 2 and 5 business days according to demand.
Which cases does the Uruguayan first-passport trámite cover?
Four variants: natural citizens, people born abroad to Uruguayan parents (Ley 16.021), Uruguayan grandchildren (Ley 19.362), and legal citizens holding a Carta de Ciudadanía.
What do minors need for a Uruguayan passport?
A birth certificate (Testimonio less than 30 days old) and both parents attending with a valid, good-condition DNI. A married minor's parents are exempt, with a marriage certificate under 30 days.
What if one parent refuses to attend for a minor's Uruguayan passport (Ley 16.021)?
Judicial authorisation is required. A guardianship judgment is also required where applicable, and must be updated if it is more than a year old.
How much does a Uruguayan passport cost?
The official page consulted for this checklist does not publish the fee, so it is not stated here — confirm the current amount with DNIC.
Uruguay photo specs → Passport photo checker →
Browse every checklist on the checklists hub, or read how to take a passport photo at home for a different document.
Source note: the four variants (natural citizens, Ley 16.021, Ley 19.362 and legal citizens), the main-line requirements, the minor rules, the audiencia system and the timelines (15 business days standard, 5 business days urgent, 2–5 by demand on the in-person route) are from the Uruguayan government trámite page gub.uy/tramites/solicitud-pasaporte-primera-vez-personas-ciudadanas-naturales-uruguayas-0 and the DNIC portal, checked October 2026. That page does not publish the fee, so it is not stated here.