Kosovo Passport Photo Requirements
Kosovo issues its passport through a biometric procedure. The official Ministry of Internal Affairs page (mpb.rks-gov.net) sets out the application procedure and the documents required, but it does not publish a photo size, a background colour, a pixel size, a DPI or a head-height rule — so none of those is stated here. Verified against the official MPB page, September 2026.
What the official page does and does not say
| Procedure | Biometric passport application, per the official procedure page |
| Photo size | Not published officially |
| Background colour | Not published officially |
| Pixels / DPI | Not published officially |
| Head height | Not published officially |
| Number of photos | Not published officially |
The official page is a procedure and document checklist. It describes how to apply and what to bring, not a photographic specification. Because no technical photo figures are published, this guide states none and does not copy another country's numbers.
Do not confuse a live capture with a paper photo
A biometric passport is built on a photograph captured in person as part of the application. That capture is not the same thing as an applicant-supplied paper photograph with a published size and background. The official Kosovo page does not set out a paper-photo specification, so do not present the in-person capture as one, and do not assume a 35 × 45 mm or 2 × 2 inch frame applies.
What to do instead
- Follow the official MPB procedure page for the application steps and the documents to bring.
- If you prepare a photo for your own use, keep it a plain, light, full-frontal image and check the framing with the passport photo checker.
- Confirm any size before printing on the official page rather than from a third-party list.
- The photo size chart shows the sizes other countries publish; compare only where the official source for that country states one.
Frequently asked questions
What size photo does Kosovo require for a biometric passport?
Not published. The Kosovo MPB procedure page for biometric passports lists the required documents but does not state a photo size, so no size is asserted here.
Does the official page give a background colour?
No. No background colour is published on the official procedure page, so none is stated here.
Is there a pixel size, DPI or head-height rule?
Not published officially. The official page contains no pixel size, no DPI and no head-height rule.
Is the passport photo taken at an office or supplied by me?
The passport is issued through a biometric procedure. The official page sets out the application procedure and documents, not an applicant-supplied photo specification, so do not treat a live biometric capture as a paper-photo spec.
How many photos should I bring?
Not published. The official page does not state a photo count for the biometric procedure, so none is asserted here.
Where can I confirm the current rule?
On the official Kosovo Ministry of Internal Affairs page (mpb.rks-gov.net) that sets out the biometric passport application procedure. The rules there are the ones that apply.
Source: Kosovo Ministry of Internal Affairs (mpb.rks-gov.net), biometric passport application procedure — retrieved 2026-09-29. Requirements change, so confirm the current rule on the official page before you apply.